Stock Car Racing


#17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Car #17 Fusion
Sponsor Nationwide, Zest, NOS, Ford EcoBoost, EcoPower
Crew Chief Mike Kelley
Hometown Olive Branch, Miss.
Birthday OCT 2, 1987

Another year and another trophy for Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

After winning consecutive NASCAR Nationwide Series championships in 2011 and 2012, Stenhouse moved up to the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series in 2013 and won Sunoco Rookie of the Year honors after finishing 19th in the final point standings.  He had three top-10 finishes while a third-place effort in October at Talladega Superspeedway proved to be his lone top-five.

Entering the 2014 season, Stenhouse is poised for marked improvement thanks in large part to being reunited with crew chief Mike Kelley.  The two won a total of eight races during their two-year Nationwide championship run while finishing in the top 10 a total of 52 times in 67 starts.

Stenhouse joined the Roush Fenway Racing organization in 2008 when he drove a full season of ARCA, winning twice in 21 starts.  From there, he moved up to Nationwide, where he ran seven races for the team in 2009 and all but three of the 35 events in 2010.

A native of Olive Branch, MS, Stenhouse made his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series debut in 2011 when he substituted for an ailing Trevor Bayne in the No. 21 Motorcraft/Quick Lane Fusion of the Wood Brothers.  He qualified ninth for the Coca-Cola 600 in May and finished 11th.  Stenhouse also raced four times in the No. 6 Ford for Roush on the NSCS side in 2012, with a 12th-place finish at Dover as his highest effort.

  • Stenhouse is one of five drivers to win a NASCAR championship for car owner Jack Roush, joining Greg Biffle, Matt Kenseth, Carl Edwards and Kurt Busch.
  • He also became only the sixth driver to win back-to-back NASCAR Nationwide championships, joining Sam Ard, Larry Pearson, Randy LaJoie, Dale Earnhardt Jr., and Martin Truex Jr.
  • Before getting into the stock car ranks, Stenhouse drove for Tony Stewart in the USAC National Sprint Car and USAC National Midget series. 


Stenhouse became the sixth driver in NASCAR history to win the Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award in both the NASCAR Nationwide and NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.  The others are Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, Johnny Benson, Ricky Craven and Jeff Gordon.